The personal injury protection (PIP) law was adopted in 1972 to make sure anyone injured in an auto accident could quickly treat their injuries without regard to who’s at fault.  The legislature mandated that a driver’s insurance company pay up to $10,000 to cover medical bills. Recently, the Florida Legislature, under the urging of Rick Scott and the insurance industry, pushed for changes to the PIP law. 

What does this mean for you and me?

The new law limits the amount of time that individuals have to receive PIP benefits following an accident.  If you are insured in the state of Florida, your personal injury protection (PIP) may no longer cover you for a maximum of $10,000.00 come January 1, 2013.  However, you will still be required to pay the premium to have the coverage.  After an accident, unless you seek treatment within 14 days, you will forfeit your right for medical treatment under PIP.  

For the full $10,000.00 in PIP benefits you will have to have an EMC. “Emergency medical condition” means a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in any of the following:
* Serious jeopardy to patient health.
* Serious impairment to bodily functions.
* Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part. 

If you are not diagnosed with a EMC, your maximum PIP medical benefit will be $2,500. A trip to the emergency room at your local hospital could easily cost you more than $2,500.00 making you responsible to pay the remainder.  Important Note – Visiting the emergency room does not make your injury an EMC. 

Remember, there is often a lag in the onset of symptoms following an automobile accident.  No claim can be opened after 14 days under PIP.  Medicare and other major medical insurance companies are not liable for injuries sustained in an automobile accident until the PIP benefits are exhausted.  However, at that time the coverage would range from limited to none at all.   If treatment is initiated within 14 days of an accident, coverage will extend as long as is medically necessary.   We are a provider for all Florida automobile insurance carriers.  Florida is a no-fault state and your automobile insurance covers care in our office.   

Nationwide, Chiropractors are, in most cases, the first professionals to see patients after a car accident.   At Bauman Chiropractic, we are dedicated to providing you the best healthcare and will work closely with local specialist to ensure that you receive the highest quality care available.

There is never a good time to get injured in an automobile accident.   If you have a crash, please do not wait to call us, even if you are at fault.  Our doctors and staff will work diligently in an effort to restore your health and ease your mind during this stressful time.


Important Take Aways On the New PIP

  • Activate within 14 days or NO PIP BENEFITS.
  • An ER visit does not automatically make your injury an Emergency Medical Condition.
  • Consult your chiropractor within 14 days to see if you have been damaged.